Backup Plugin

The OctoPrint Backup Plugin comes bundled with OctoPrint (starting with 1.3.10).

It allows the creation and restoration of backups of OctoPrint’s settings, data and installed plugins [1].

This allows easy migration to newly setup instances as well as making regular backups to prevent data loss.

OctoPrint Backup Plugin

Fig. 13 The plugin’s settings panel with existing backups, the backup creation and restore sections.

As long as plugins adhere to the standard of storing their data and settings in OctoPrint’s plugin data folders, their data will be part of the backup. Note that the backups made by the Backup Plugin will not be part of any backups - you’ll need to persist the resulting zip files yourself!

Command line usage

The Backup Plugin implements a command line interface that allows creation and restoration of backups. It adds two new commands, backup:backup and backup_restore.

$ octoprint plugins backup:backup --help
  Initializing settings & plugin subsystem...
  Usage: octoprint plugins backup:backup [OPTIONS]

  Creates a new backup.

  Options:
    --exclude TEXT  Identifiers of data folders to exclude, e.g. 'uploads' to
                    exclude uploads or 'timelapse' to exclude timelapses.
    --help          Show this message and exit.

$ octoprint plugins backup:restore --help
  Initializing settings & plugin subsystem...
  Usage: octoprint plugins backup:restore [OPTIONS] PATH

    Restores an existing backup from the backup zip provided as argument.

    OctoPrint does not need to run for this to proceed.

  Options:
    --help  Show this message and exit.

Note

The backup:backup command can be useful in combination with a cronjob to create backups in regular intervals.

Source code

The source of the Backup plugin is bundled with OctoPrint and can be found in its source repository under src/octoprint/plugins/backup.

[1]Note that only those plugins that are available on OctoPrint’s official plugin repository can be automatically restored. If you have plugins installed that are not available on there you’ll get their names and - if available - homepage URL displayed after restore in order to be able to manually reinstall them.